Enough Patience for the Weakest Sinner | Genesis 20:14

14925779_10210900958542280_5890895185575018881_n.jpg

To say that my study through Genesis has been easy would be so far from the truth. The reality is that when I look at these passages, striving to set my gaze on who He is, I often feel discouraged and confused. Sometimes I spend several days with a small passage, wrestling, praying, and seeking to understand. I feel as though I can relate to a wrestling Jacob, “I will not let go until you bless me.” But I’m getting ahead of myself.

Today is one of those passages I’ve had to wrestle with. There are so many cultural nuances I don’t understand. I struggle with understanding why Abimelech is the one “getting in trouble” here and not Abraham. I struggle with understanding how Abraham could fall into the same exact sin and failure to trust that he did before. I struggle with understanding how Abraham is blessed despite His sins, how He is blessed even through them.

But then, despite all my questionings, there is a glimmer of light. God is faithful. God is long suffering. Abraham trusted God in some really big ways, but he was a sinful man who also had times of great weakness. I still do not understand God’s response to Abimelech, but the Bible doesn’t really tell his story.

What I can know from this story is that God has enough patience and forgiveness for even the weakest sinner. No matter how weak you feel your faith, no matter what you have done, or how you have failed, you can turn to God and know He will carry you under His wings

Leave a Reply

