Hope in Waiting | Genesis 8:8-9

14572871_10210584798078466_3250768940929273719_n-2.jpg

I am not very good at waiting. Patience is a virtue that God is still working in my heart. Noah did an awful lot of waiting. He waited for rain, then he waited for the storms to stop, then to see the tops of mountains, then for the land to be dry enough to exit the ark and so on.

He waited and waited and waited. The Bible doesn’t say much about what He did or thought while He waited. Did he question, doubt, or wonder? Or, did he have complete faith that God was who He said He was and that He would do what He said He would do?

That’s one thing I have learned through scripture and life, God always keeps His promises. One of my favorite promises that I’ve seen Him keep time and again is found in Matthew 28, just before ascending to heaven, Jesus said, “I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” And in John 14:1-3 He said, “Do not let your heart be troubled; believe in God, believe also in Me. In my Father’s house are many dwelling places; if it were not so, I would have told you; for I go to prepare a place for you. If I go prepare a place for you, I will come again. And receive you to Myself, that where I am there you may be also.” Wow! What a promise! What hope! What excitement.

Like Noah, you may be facing a real storm today. Maybe you are hunkered down. Maybe you are eagerly awaiting word to hear how your town, your home made it through the gales and surges of Hurricane Matthew*. Maybe you are floating on the stormy waters of another kind of storm – one that seems to last forever. Whatever the case, do not lose hope. God is with you and He will not leave you.

*This was originally written on October 8, 2016, while Hurricane Matthew was making landfall in the U.S.

Leave a Reply

