Spiritual Blessings | Ephesians 1:3

13466370_10209656970283351_5245482853259118099_n

How often do I fail to recognize the many amazing gifts God has given me? When I do recognize His gifts, I tend to focus on the physical and material – food, clothing, money. I am often thankful for the people He has placed in my life as well – my kids, my husband, friends, and family.

Yet how often do I fail to recognize, ask for, or even praise God for the spiritual gifts in my life. Things like patience, kindness, gentleness, self control, etc. It seems that I often view these as things that are attained, not gifts freely given. I work hard to develop these spiritual gifts, or the way I think of them, more rightly called disciplines. But these are not badges to be attained. They are gifts freely given. They are evidence that Christ is working in us. They are more precious than rubies, and our Father bestows them on us joyfully and abundantly.

Even more than that are the eternal spiritual blessings that we cannot begin to fathom this side of heaven. We have been blessed to be called sons and daughters of the King of the Universe. I don’t even think I can grasp the magnitude of that statement.

Today I am going to seek, recognize and praise God with a joyful heart for all the spiritual blessing He bestows upon me. Wow! What an incredible thing to think about! What an awesome and loving God we serve. He reaches beyond our physical needs and provides down to the deepest needs of our souls. He must really love us.

Leave a Reply

