Unwavering Hope | Hebrews 10:23-24

13413531_10209600077021055_1394017609223165552_n

*This was written on June 14, 2016 in the wake of a night club shooting in Orlando, Florida.*

Encouragement. It’s so important. God’s word is filled with it, with stories of it, and with commands to practice it.

As I have been reading through Hebrews, I have been overcome with the undeniable truth of Christ’s love, sacrifice, and redemption for us. We are intimately loved by the foremost encourager.

These truths give us an unwavering hope, one that is solid and sure. It is through this hope and the faithfulness of His promises that we may encourage one another. It is all in His strength.

I know we are standing in the wake of a terrible tragedy in Orlando this week. The loss simply baffles my mind. To be fair, I have not read the news in great depth. I don’t know all the details. I don’t think it’s necessary and it’s just too much for my heart to carry. But I know one thing. There are many, many hurting people. I honestly don’t care if they are straight, LGBTQ, or anything in between. They are people, created and loved by God. So are their families and loved ones. We have been given such a hope, such a peace, and such an amazing gift. Now is the time, my friends. We must share this love with those around us. We must “stimulate one another to love and good deeds.”

It is not our pity and charity that the world needs. It is not even our good deeds. Rather it is the love of Jesus, and what a blessing it is that He has chosen to use us as vehicles of that great love. Let Him live, love, and encourage through you today!

Leave a Reply

