Proud Fighter | Exodus 14:14

13178918_10209347980558801_1986953560145750284_n

One of my favorite passages is found in Exodus 14:14. “The Lord will fight for you. You need only be still.”

I am a fighter. Some people see this as strength. Often it is more an issue of stubborn resolve – pride. I am faced with a challenge, and rather than surrender and trust God so get me through, I try to fight and muscle through the trials of life all by myself. Oh that I would trust Him sooner.

But what happens when I can’t fight any more? What happens when my resolve isn’t strong enough? What happens when, like the Israelites at the Red Sea, I’m surrounded and cornered?

The answer is trust. Trust that God is big enough. I must surrender to Him and let Him take care of my needs. But what if things are impossible? What if there seems to be no escape? “Do not fear.” God is strong and powerful. He is a God of miracles. I don’t know what armies surround you or what your Red Sea is, but God is saying to you, “Do not fear. Trust me. Let me fight for you.”

Leave a Reply

