Let Your Light Shine | Matthew 5:16


The sermon on the mount. I could easily take a month just to study the precious gems contained in this first public speech given by Jesus. But as I was reading today, one thing really stood out to me. 

Growing up I always thought this passage, this chapter really, was a call to perfection. That anything less was not acceptable. Yet, what l see now is an urging, a push, the realization that we need a Savior. 

I always felt great pressure in the call to let my light shine. If I messed up, or fell short, I would be misrepresenting Christ and my fear was that this misrepresentation would actually turn people away from God. I felt I had to be perfect.

The reality is that we are sinful. Only God is perfect. We must allow God into our hearts, our lives, and He CAN change us. But the focus with this kind of thinking is still on self. We must ever be looking to Christ. He is big enough. He is strong enough. He is bright enough to shine through all of our imperfections, all of our shortcomings and failures. He is bright enough to eclipse my imperfections. He is strong enough to work change in me. 

But, the biggest thing I’m realizing today is that it’s not about me. It’s about Him. It’s about surrender. It’s about the amazing things He can do, will do and is doing in me, and it’s about not being afraid to share that with others. 

Leave a Reply

