My Command Center| Time Management

IMG_2138

I have always loved planning and thinking about things.  However, recently it dawned on me that I spend a lot of time planing and a precious little time doing. I was constantly overwhelmed. When my husband left for a 12 day trip to Australia, I was forced to figure a few things out, and I did.

I learned that I need to have a list prepared. I need to write down the every day thing that need to get done. If I don’t have my tasks written down, I find myself staring at mounds of dishes, toys, clothes, etc and feel so overwhelmed that I become paralyzed. On the other hand, I can find myself flat out racing, but leaving out some of the most important things. Then, when I need something to be done, it isn’t and I’m stuck.

I also learned the importance of staying one step ahead. I tried to work on breakfast the night before, lunch in the morning and supper early afternoon. In the evenings I would work ahead to prep breakfast. I often found it difficult to work up the motivation, but I knew how important it was, so I just pushed through anyway. I was shocked to find that each time I pushed through and did one thing, I had more motivation and energy to push through the next. I built on momentum.

I put these lessons together as well as a few others I learned, and I came up with my command center. This time management system has worked better for me than any other system I have ever used. I don’t know if it’s the system itself or my determination to push through and do what I know I need to do. I like to believe it’s a little bit of both. 🙂

I took a video of my command center so you could see how it is I manage my time. I would love to hear the things you’ve found work for you too!

UPDATE: I’ve had a few requests for PDFs for my zone cleaning and routines. Here are the links to the google docs for you to look at for inspiration:

Daily Routine
Zone Cleaning

 

3 thoughts on “My Command Center| Time Management

    • I will for sure post the link to my weekly zone cleaning, and I’ll look at my daily schedule again. I’m not sure if I want to post our entire schedule, but it might be fine. 🙂 I’ll let you know as soon as I get them up.

Leave a Reply

