No Excuses Just Choices

I remember my band teacher in grade school used to call me “excuse girl”. I hated it at the time as I felt all my excuses for not practicing were legitimate. For some reason the frustration associated with that nickname has remained in my memory bank. Unfortunately so have the behaviors. I can come up with excuses for anything. These excuses have become my chains as they have led my life. “I can’t do that. I’m not _____ enough.” “I don’t want to be too ______” “I don’t have the time.” “I just can’t.”

My boys love to pretend they are firefighters, squelching the flames of a roaring fire. By God’s grace, I’m learning to be an excuse fighter, combating the flames of evasion.

I am reminded of a fire, a flaming bush, with an old shepherd who had countless excuses for why He couldn’t perform the tasks God was calling Him to. “What if they don’t believe me?” (Exodus 4:1) “I am slow of speech and tongue.” (vs 10) “Please send someone else.” (vs 13). It was as if Moses thought God didn’t already know his weakness and limitations.

God spoke to each of Moses’ excuses. He is the ultimate Excuse Fighter. In fact, Through His servant Paul, He has told us: ” I know how to get along with humble means, and I know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” Philippians 4:12-13. 

In the same way I am learning to trust God. I am learning to hear His calling in my life. I am learning to fight the excuses. He has given me a new motto. No excuses; just choices. I am not a victim of my circumstances. By God’s grace I can choose how I spend my time, where I put my effort and what is worth fighting for. And, as long as I’m fighting the battles God calls me to, He WILL give me the strength I need to succeed. 

Leave a Reply

