Cinnamon Oatmeal | Herbal Cold Care


As I learn more and more about herbs, I find joy in using every day kitchen ingredients to vamp up my family’s health. This is especially true when it comes to colds and other common ailments.

As I go through formal training and learn more about herbs and the human body, I thought I would share a few herbal recipes that pop up around our house from time-to-time. If you’re interested, I might even share some interesting tid-bits from my classes.


 

So, to dive right in, let’s start with good old oatmeal. Oatmeal is the typical Sunday evening meal in our home, but when one of the troops is sick or seems to be getting sick, I like to think of ways to turn this classic into an immune boosting super food. One of my biggest allies: cinnamon!

Cinnamon is antimicrobial which means it can help fight off bacteria, fungi, viruses and more. This spicy herb has so many qualities, but I’m going to try to stick to the reasons I add it to my oatmeal.  Because cinnamon is spicy, it has a warming effect on the body and can kick circulation up a notch. Both of these actions help your immune system do what it was made to do – fight off bodily invaders!

On top of adding cinnamon, I put away other sweeteners and leave out the raw honey.  While sugars should be greatly reduced or avoided all together when fighting illness, the antimicrobial effects of raw honey can be helpful in very small amounts.

A couple other herbs you could add to your oatmeal are cloves (though I would probably just cook them with the oats and then take them out before eating) and ginger. I’d love to hear if you try any of these simple remedies.  What are some other ways you can add cinnamon to foods you already eat when there are signs of illness lurking in your home?


 

*Cinnamon is not recommended in large quantities during pregnancy.

Check my sources:

Gladstar, Rosemary. “Cinnamon.” Rosemary Gladstar’s Medicinal Herbs: A Beginner’s Guide. North Adams: Storey, 2012. 64-69. Print. I highly recommend this book as an introduction to using herbs.

De La Foret, Rosalee. “Herbal Cold Care.” Herbal Cold Care: Natural Remedies for Cold and Flu Season. Web. Nov. 2014. <http://herbalcoldcare.com>. This is a fantastic course that’s available from time-to-time. It is hosted by John Gallagher from learningherbs.com (another great site to check out).
Nic an Fhleisdeir, Heather. “Think Like an Herbalist.” Part 3: Learning Our Language. 6 Apr. 2009. Television. herbmentor.com is another fantastic source for learning about herbs. They have video and audio courses as well as a community of herbalists to answer questions you may have. It’s a great choice for self-guided learning.
Leave a Reply

