Consider the Ravens

Photo Credit: Andreas Krappweis

Photo Credit: Andreas Krappweis

Samuel and I have been enjoying watching, identifying and generally learning about birds lately. I’ve been very interested in exploring the spiritual lessons we can learn from birds both by watching them in nature and by reading about them in the Bible. As such, I have started a topical study of birds in the Bible.  I busted out the concordance and the journey has begun.  I’m eager to share some of the things I discover along the way. I hope you’ll join me as I start with this first, famous lesson from the ravens in Luke 12.

“Consider the ravens, for they neither sow, nor reap; they have no storeroom or barn, and yet God feeds them; how much more valuable are you than birds! But seek first His kingdom and these things will be added to you.” ~Luke 12:24, 31 emphasis mine

It is so interesting to me that all of these verses about worrying are sandwiched between a story of a greedy, rich man, and a call to sell all and give to charity.  Jesus is telling us to focus on the kingdom above from a place of wealth OR a place of poverty.  We must put our trust in Him only.  We cannot become comfortable in our wealth nor should we worry about lack. All comes from God.

As I watch our birds this week, and “consider the ravens” I want to think about what this means practically.  I guess the place to start would be to focus on cheerfully serving God (just like the birds with their beautiful morning melodies), and allow him to show me what to do with all the “stuff” weather it be plenty or scant.  What about you? What do these verses mean to you? What can you learn about the ravens? What happens when you consider their ways? What do you think about this passage in it’s greater context?

Leave a Reply

