Transplanting the Withered Soul

photo by onthegogo

“The sower went out to sow his seed, and as he sowed some . . .seed fell among the thorns; and the thorns grew up with it and choked it out. Other seed fell into the good soil and grew up, and produced a crop a hundred times as great.” ~ Luke 8:5a, 7-8a

Today is June 15, 2014. I’m sure I won’t post this today, but the date of writing is very important. You will see why. 

Look up there ^^. What do you see? It’s my blog’s title and tagline. “At Jesus’ Feet: Learning daily from the Master Teacher.” To be honest, I haven’t been a good student.  The last four years of my life have held the greatest blessings, but have also held a great many challenges. I have struggled through many trials, and unfortunately, I have let these thorny difficulties choke me out.

I am so thankful that the Master Teacher is also the Master Gardener. He is pulling the weeds in my life – exterminating the thorns and transplanting me into good soil. In the process, some of my roots have been damaged, but he cares for me. He will continue to tend me and by his hand I will grow and “produce a crop a hundred times as great”.

Throughout this process, I have been learning about myself. One thing I know for sure is that I am a thinker, a learner, a researcher and a teacher and I care deeply for people. It is these very traits in me that make blogging so valuable. You will be seeing more of me, but things will be different.  As I write, I want to be truly candid and share with you some of the same kinds of things I have been sharing all along.  You will still find posts about gardening and homeschool. You will still read devotionals and reviews. Many things may look similar.  The difference is that I will lose the fluff.

You see, fluff is the very weed that has grown and tried to so tightly strangle me in my life. We live in a world where so much information is at our fingertips.  We can quickly time something and at it to our blogs or facebook and garner immediate feedback. We can google anything and find out best methods and practices.  We can learn anything, anywhere, anytime. So much of what we discover, however, is mental diarrhea, and sifting through and consuming it all clogs our minds, sucks or time and causes us to strive for a reality that is simply unattainable (and very often, undesirable when we really stop to consider).

It is my desire to truly share with you what I am learning from God, but in a way that adds value. I will be writing regularly to fulfill my own needs to learn, process and share, but I will set limits.  I will edit and research and take time so that the posts I add are quality – things that fertilize rather than choke.

I am excited about the ways God is working in my life. thank you for being a part of the rids as God transplants this withered flower into the good soil of His love.

Leave a Reply

