God Cares About the Little Things

I have NEVER lost a library book. Ever. Until today. I was shocked to find a snake book missing from our return stack. We have an outing planned for today complete with a picnic, playground visit and a trip to the library. How could we possibly be missing one of the books that is due back?

We have a small house, so it’s pretty hard to lose things. We have spent all morning moving furniture and exploring every last nook and cranny. Could it really be lost? How does something dissappear? How could I be so irresponsible? Would they put me on some sort of library black list? Should I purchase the book plus another one to return to the library along with my sincere apologies?

I had to stop my quest to tend to my youngest’s nap time needs, yet my mind was still racing. Finally I admitted defeat, “Lord, I have no clue where this book is. I have looked everywhere. I can’t find it, but I know you see it. Please show us where it is.” As I continued to prayed and give my worries repeatedly to God (it’s amazing how often I never actually let go), he began working on my heart. I finally chose to believe that He would help us find it. Maybe not today, but soon.

All of a sudden it dawned on me. I looked behind Samuel’s dresser, but I didn’t look under it. I used to lose tons of things under that very dresser when I was little. Sure enough, there it was!

To think – my faith is so small that I was willing to let something as small as a lost library boom ruin our special family outing day, but that book mattered to God. It mattered to Him because it mattered to me. I must learn to trust Him first. Hopefully one day soon I will learn to trust Him first so he can take my worry from me.

2 thoughts on “God Cares About the Little Things

  1. I had a similar experience when my kids were little. I could not find the book about frogs anywhere. I finally stopped and prayed, I walked back by the kids school shelf, and there it was, sticking out about four inches from the rest of the books. How did I not see it before? I am sure it was not there before, at least in that position, as I had ran my hands down the shelf looking at each book carefully. The only explanation I have is that while my eyes were closed, an angel took it from where it was hiding, and slipped it into the shelf, where I could easily see it. I’m so glad I could take it back to the library.

Leave a Reply

