Writer’s Avalanche

I love to write. I love to teach. I love kids (especially mine). Those things I am passionate about. My current dream (which is totally unrealistic) would be to write a food blog and sell an allergy-free cook book, write a homeschool blog and create a polished preschool curriculum, make a fully integrated and functional curriculum for homeschooling families (based on unit studies that are easy to integrate across all ages and subjects), go back to school to become certified to teach high school science, write a blog about being a mommy, co-write a blog with my husband about simplifying. . . Simplify. Oh yeah, that.

All of these things constantly vie for my brain power during a time when I want to be fully engaged with my family. I wish I could shut all the “pieces” I want to write out of my head entirely. I know I can’t. I need to simplify where I focus my writing.

I have to write to function, however, at this stage of life, finding a large block of time to write is rare. When I do find it, I spend most of my time trying to decide what to write rather than actually writing. This is clearly something I need to work on.

What do you think? How can I hone in on one topic? Which one should I chose?

Leave a Reply

