More Sprouts

As of yesterday, March 6, all but two of the tomatoes have sprouted and are going strong. The peppers are still slow with only 4 actual sprouts and a couple trying to peak through. That’s no surprise as they are slow to germinate. They also require higher temperatures.

I would still love to have the peppers covered by the dome in an effort to increase the heat, but the tomato sprouts are too tall. I compromised by using clothespins to prop up the tomato side of the dome, but not the pepper side. I’m not sure it’s actually doing any good, but it makes me feel better. 🙂

Samuel and I also started two more mini greenhouses with 12 pellets each. They are also on a heating mat. We planted 4 eggplants and 20 basil pellets. I know, that’s a LOT of basil. We mostly grow basil to make our own pesto. We like to make lots of extra to share with friends and to freeze so we can have it all winter too – yum!

Here is the rundown of the seeds we planted:

Eggplant – 4 heirloom Rosa Bianca organic from Seeds of Change. I’m not sure if these were packed for the 2011 or 2012 growing season.

Basil – 20 Heirloom Genovese Sweet Basil from Sustainable Seed Company, packed for the 2012 growing season.

I really know nothing about how long seeds last, so feel free to educate me on the topic. 🙂

I also really need to get soil samples from all our beds so we can add the proper amendments, I just haven’t felt up to it and things have been so crazy around here that it’s not on the top of my list when I have people around to help me. Hopefully I can get it done by the end of next week.

Leave a Reply

