Mulch in My Heart

20120507-112128.jpg

When I work with Samuel, I like to explain to him what I’m doing and why. A project we have been working on lately is adding mulch between the raised beds in the garden. This is a long process as my goal is to finish just a little bit here and there.

20120507-112238.jpg

We carefully lay down newspaper where we are going to put our mulch. This acts as an extra barrier against weeds fighting to poke through.

20120507-112412.jpg

Then we shovel the mulch into the wheelbarrow. Sometimes Samuel helps with his little shovel, and sometimes he just watches. Either way, we ALWAYS count the shovel fulls of mulch. 1 . . . 2 . . . 3 . . . I usually start over once we get to 10, and every once in a while, Samuel will surprise me and count right along.

20120507-112657.jpg

Once the wheelbarrow is loaded up, I pop Samuel in for a ride. This is his favorite part. We take the mulch over to the newspaper and dump it out. Then Samuel helps me spread the mulch out, nice and thick.

20120507-112707.jpg

I was explaining to Samuel that we put the mulch where we don’t want weeds to grow. I always tell him it’s important to pull weeds so our plants can grow nice and strong. Then, the water and nutrients they need aren’t being taken away by bad plants. I explain to him that we put mulch down to make it even harder for weeds to grow. A few will probably still get through, but there won’t be nearly as many.

That made me immediately think of mulching our hearts. I had always heard about not letting weeds (or sin), grow in our hearts, and making sure to pull them outat the root whenever we saw them creeping in. I had never thought about “mulching” our hearts though. By asking Jesus to live in our hearts, spending time with Him daily and seeking His truth in His Word, we are putting mulch in our hearts. We are making it hard for the weeds to grow.

Above all else, guard your heart,
for everything you do flows from it.
Keep your mouth free of perversity;
keep corrupt talk far from your lips.
Let your eyes look straight ahead;
fix your gaze directly before you.
Give careful thought to the paths for your feet
and be steadfast in all your ways.
Do not turn to the right or the left;
keep your foot from evil.
~Proverbs 4:23-27~

Why not take time to mulch your heart’s garden today?

20120507-112717.jpg

One thought on “Mulch in My Heart

Leave a Reply

