Pilgrim’s Progress Audio Dramatization (with Giveaway ;))

Christian and Hopeful, captives in the dungeon of the dread Giant Dispair are fleeing for their lives while the giant sleeps in his chamber. Their only weapon is a key of promise, given to them by the LORD of the Hill to unlock any gate or lock that stands in the way of their pilgrimage.  As they near their freedom, they approach a rusty gate and Christian struggles to get the key in the hole.  Finally, it budges, but despite throwing all his weight on the key, it doesn’t turn.  Christian turns to Faithful, imploring him to throw his weight on the key as well. In response to Hopeful’s hesitation, Christian proclaims, “If the promise be not strong enough to hold all our weight, than our entire pilgrimage be in vain.

This is only one of the many scenes from the audio dramatization of the Pilgrim’s Progress that has played over and over in my mind. As I have struggled with some difficult times in my life, this very scene has drawn me back to the promises of God, trusting in them despite circumstances, despite the temptation to believe His promises can’t be true for me, where I am, right now.  

Arlen (my husband) shares one of his favorite scenes:

As Standfast crosses over the river to the heavenly country, he stops to share with his friends all God has done for him and pours out his heart to them. “His voice has comforted me in my trials, His face I have turned towards as the flower to the sun, and His word has been my food and drink and medicine … by it He has changed me from a bull-headed drunkard into what I am this day, a man named Standfast … from the moment I first gave myself to Him He has held me fast to His heart … now, Lord, take me, for I come to you!”

This is what I long to be able to say at the close of my life – to share from my heart how God has changed me from a selfish and stubborn addict into an unwavering, humble and courageous man of faith! Hearing about the journey of others through this allegory has opened my eyes to so many areas of weakness, and yet also to how I can be made strong and live in freedom, with God’s peace and joy. Every time I listen to it (I’ve lost count how many), I am challenged and encouraged again in new ways. It never grows old.

It seems every time I listen to Pilgrim’s Progress, I am brought to new realizations of God’s Salvation, His love and what it truly means to be a Christian. I also love this series because it provides a fantastic opportunity to talk about some of the deep and important messages of scripture with children.  I have had many priceless conversations insue after listening to these stories with children in my home.

I believe that you too can find these resources to be a blessing in your life.  I contacted Jim Pappas, the creator of this fantastic set, and he is thrilled to offer one winner the mp3 download of Parts one & two of Pilgrim’s Progress.

                          

Here is what you need to do to enter:

1. Visit the Orion’s Gate website and listen to the audio sample of Pilgrim’s Progress. Leave a comment below letting me know if you listened to part one or part two or both and what you like about what you heard. mandatory

2. Tell me why you are excited to have these amazing resources for your family – will you listen to them for worships, car rides. etc? mandatory

Extra entries

1. You can get an extra entry by poking around the Orion’s gate website and letting me know what else you find there that interests you.

2. Additional entries (one a day per site) for sharing this giveaway on facebook, twitter, or your own blog.

Winner will be randomly chosen using random.org.  This giveaway ends on Sunday, June 3 at 12:00 midnight EST.  Winner will be announced on Monday.

Leave a Reply

