Simple Living: Samuel’s First Garden

Samuel digging in the dirt

Lately I have felt stifled inside.  I am constantly surrounded by stuff.  The more stuff I have, the more time I have to spend taking care of it.  The more time I spend inside, the more time I have to spend cleaning up messes we make.  What if I could spend more time outside?  What if I could really live outside and only use inside spaces for sleeping, bad weather, or things that just can’t be done outside?

I am trying to do just that.  I have started taking laundry outside to fold, and have been focusing more on some of the outdoor tasks I have to do.  My goal is to eventually be able to prepare food outside, do chores outside and when Samuel is older, maybe even have school outside.  Believe it or not, this is a bit of a transition for me, so I’m taking things one step at a time.  I figure a great starting place is giving Samuel a place to play so he doesn’t feel the need to wander down the street while I’m working in the garden (or dig up my plants for that matter ;).

On pinterest I found some fantastic inspiration:

Pinned Toddler Garden from Imagination Tree

and I started by making Samuel his own little “garden”.   Here it is along with the process I used to make it:

How can you spend a little more time outside every day?  How can you include your kids in that process? What would you include in an outdoor play room?

Samuel in his first "garden"

Leave a Reply

