Sweet Sabbath Rest

Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is the Sabbath of the Lord your God. In it you shall do no work: you, nor your son, nor your daughter, nor your male servant, nor your female servant, nor your cattle, nor your stranger who is within your gates. For in six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and hallowed it.
~ Exodus 20:8-11

Oh, sweet Sabbath rest.  What a wonderful gift God gave us on this sacred day.  I love being able to relax and enjoy Sabbath with my family.  When I was in high school, I had many questions about the Sabbath and how it was to be celebrated.  I studied and studied to make sure I was observing the Sabbath correctly.  I was shocked to find that other than the commandment above, God doesn’t give a list of the “do’s and don’ts”.  There are a few verses here and there, but it seems the Sabbath was truly created as a day for us to soak in deep communion with our Heavenly Father.

I have been thinking more about the Sabbath and ways to make it a special weekly holiday for our family, a way to honor God and draw us all closer to Him and to each other. As I have been thinking about our Sabbath traditions, I have also been thinking about other Biblical holidays like Passover.  As with many things, I have learned that the way these precious occasions are celebrated will change and grow over time as our life stages change and grow; but I am excited to begin setting lasting traditions in place that will ever bring us nearer to our precious Savior.

Please join me on this journey!  Explore God’s word, talk with Your family, set aside time in prayer.  I look forward to sharing what God is teaching me along with the traditions we love.  I am eager to hear what God is teaching you and how your family is spending special time with our Heavenly Father.


One thought on “Sweet Sabbath Rest

  1. I was just telling my husband this weekend that I love Sabbath and the way it makes me feel – like I’m in a bubble and the daily bothers can’t reach me;0) I am blessed with parents that raised to me to love Jesus the Sabbath and I want to do the same with my boys.
    Beautiful cat!

Leave a Reply

