Simple Living: Moving Life Outside

 

As I have been re-evaluating my priorities and how I spend my time, I have become increasingly drawn to being outside.  Both Samuel and I come alive when we spend more time out in the fresh air, exploring and discovering nature.  I have also found that when I give Samuel the freedom to explore he learns so much outside.

Yesterday I took Samuel to a nearby trail system with a nice little creek that runs through it. Samuel enjoyed walking in the stream, following it along the path.  He liked to move rocks and watch the water stop and go.  He found that big “heavy” rocks make a big splash and smaller rocks make a little splash.  He loved running back and forth across the bridge. He tried to dig up sticks and rocks.  We played hide-and-seek among tree trunks.  Samuel was really learning.  He was developing language, spacial reasoning, large and fine motor skills and so much more.

When God put Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden, I think He really created all men to have a special attachment to the natural world.

“The heavens declare the glory of God;
the skies proclaim the work of his hands.”
~Psalm 19:1

I look forward to sharing more ways we make the move outside.

Do you like being outside? What are your favorite things about being outside?

One thought on “Simple Living: Moving Life Outside

  1. Pingback: Rethinking Education: Real vs. Artificial | At Jesus' Feet

Leave a Reply

