Toddler Homeschool Letter V Activities

Letter of the week: V

Memory verse for the week: “I am the vine; you are the branches, if you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me, you can do nothing.” John 15:5

New Toy: We cut back on toys even more this week.  His current toys that are out: vacuum, workbench, tricycle thing, farm puzzle, stacker toy, pound and roll tower, rock pouring and scooping activity, building blocks, alphabet blocks, books and treasure box (including matchbox cars). WOW!  That still seems like too many toys huh?

Mystery Box Items (choose 5 – one for each day): No mystery box this week.

Daily Story/Activity: (This is what we do to start our “learning time” each day) Talk about Jesus as the vine and us as the branches and what that means

sing a couple songs, look at letter of the day. Set aside aprox. 15 mins to read as many books as Samuel wants. After doing daily activities, if Samuel needs other things to do, here are some options:

Go for a walk, blow bubbles, color in coloring book, play dough, water play, sing “Head and Shoulders, Knees and Toes”, stack pots and pans or bowls, play with balls, finger painting, water painting, get out sensory tub, dig in the garden

Monday – LeapFrog Fridge Phonics (each week I will put a different letter in the fridge phonics toy. I don’t usually like electronic toys, but Samuel loves putting the letter in this one and pressing the button. I’m starting to give him two letters at a time – last week’s and the new one.) We will look at the new toys set out and play with them together.

Tuesday – Learn about volcanos. I made a SUPER basic volcano book by searching for pictures of volcanos on google, and explaining what they are. (i.e. This is a volcano.  Watch the lava run out of the volcano. etc).  We will also make a VERY simple volcano with a cup and dirt and watch it erupt with vinegar and baking soda.

Wednesday – Listen to violin music and have Daddy show his violin.

Thursday –  Play with velcro.  I haven’t decided if I will make an apple tree for him to pick apples off and put them back on with velcro, or if I will put velcro on stones or sticks for him to stick together and build things with.  hmmm.

Friday – I’ve been working on a vegetable alphabet books with pictures I’ve cut out from a seed catalog.  I will try to finish it by Friday so we can read our vegetable ABC book together.

I thought V would be a boring letter, but I’m rather excited about this week! 😀

Leave a Reply

