Toddler Homeschool Letter U Activities

I’m beginning to let Samuel lead our learning time a bit more.  We still have structure, but if he is having fun and is really excited about something (like dumping out cars and sticking them in a container over and over again), I let him.  These activities are super important for development as well, and at such a young age it is SUPER important to teach him to have fun with his natural curiosities.

I’m also learning that when my days aren’t really structured, neither of us seem to have as much fun or get as much done.  I don’t always use the plans every single day, but having them is such a huge help for me!

Letter of the week: U

Memory verse for the week: “Unto thee, O Lord, do I lift up my soul. O my God, I trust n thee: Let me not be ashamed, let not mine enemies triumph over me.” Psalm 25:1-2

New Toy: I’ll switch out toys from his toy store.  I have too many toys out currently, so I’m going to cut back.

Mystery Box Items (choose 5 – one for each day): No mystery box this week.

Daily Story/Activity: (This is what we do to start our “learning time” each day) Tell the story of Uzziah, the proud and unthankful king.

sing a couple songs, look at letter of the day. Set aside aprox. 15 mins to read as many books as Samuel wants. After doing daily activities, if Samuel needs other things to do, here are some options:

Go for a walk, blow bubbles, color in coloring book, play dough, water play, sing “Head and Shoulders, Knees and Toes”, stack pots and pans or bowls, play with balls, finger painting, water painting, get out sensory tub, dig in the garden

Monday – LeapFrog Fridge Phonics (each week I will put a different letter in the fridge phonics toy. I don’t usually like electronic toys, but Samuel loves putting the letter in this one and pressing the button. I’m starting to give him two letters at a time – last week’s and the new one.) We will look at the new toys set out and play with them together.

Tuesday – We live near several Universities.  We may go explore the campus of one – give Samuel free reign (within limits of course) and see what he discovers. 🙂

Wednesday – Focus on UNDER.  Crawl under things, hide under things, hide toys under things. 

Thursday –  Focus on the word UP. Throw balls up in the air, go up as many stairs as we can find, maybe go to the park and go up in the swing try to do as many up things as possible

Friday – It’s supposed to rain, but be pleasant.  Perfect.  We can go for a walk with our umbrellas. 🙂

Please share any U ideas you have!  I’d love to hear about fun activities you are doing with your kids! 🙂

Leave a Reply

