November Fall Themed Sensory Tub

I don’t know if you have caught on, but I believe in hands-on learning as much as possible.  I am a firm believer (especially after teaching K-2 and watching my students) that children learn best through experience and incorporating learning into every day life.  As such, I have been eyeing a new idea I was introduced to through Pinterest – Sensory Tubs.  I love this idea for little ones because for young children, exploring and discovering the world with their senses is such a huge part of who they are.

I made my first attempt of a sensory bin for Samuel’s birthday party, and he loved it.  I have been kind of holding off on plunging into making them regularly because I was intimidated about the potential mess and time it would take to set them up.  This month, however, I took the plunge and decided to make a monthly Sensory tub for Samuel.  I didn’t put as many things into the one for November because it will be out for such a short time, but I’m so glad I decided to do it! Samuel has already spent so much time playing with his tub – he loves it!  I keep it in the kitchen (our downstairs is like one big room and the kitchen and living room are defined by a shift from wood to ceramic flooring), so messes are easier to clean up, and I keep a lid on it (which he can open if he really wants in it) to keep messes a little more contained as well.

Here it is, my November sensory tub:

Contents:

  • Leaves – from right outside
  • Small Pumpkin
  • Various small gourds
  • Stick
  • Stick with Moss on it
  • Feathers
  • Cinnamon Sticks (I scrapped these so they would have more smell and left them in the container so Samuel can dump them out and put them back in again – great way to build fine motor skills)

If you would like more information about sensory tubs, Counting Coconuts is a blog with loads of great resources.  And there is always Pinterest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

