Where Have All the Mentors Gone?

I’ve always wanted a mentor. As far back as I can remember, I would look at teachers or other significant women in my life, wondering if any of them would come along side me as a mentor. I wanted someone to teach me about how to do things, someone with experience to glean insights from and bounce my ideas off of. I’m still looking for a mentor.

In our fast-paced, Independent, and fiercely individualized culture, mentoring seems to be a dying (maybe even a lost) art. It seems that most people are too busy to be a mentor or too independent to want a mentor, yet I think it is so important.

Sure, we live in an age where you can get the answer to just about any question simply by “Googling” it. (Did I seriously just type that word with no objection from spell check?). But is Google and the World Wide Web really a substitute for companionship, experience, a listening ear, and age?

Titus 2 talks about the importance of mentoring. We must teach and encourage one another that we may continue to walk with the Lord and remain faithful in a world that is rapidly turning its back on truth. It’s true that much wisdom comes with age. Do we really want to overlook such a treasury of life? Can’t we all use some additional encouragement, guidance, prayer and a helping hand? What do you have to lose?

So, who can you mentor? Who can mentor you? I’m still looking, but I won’t stop until they (mentor and mentee) are found.

Leave a Reply

