I Made Applesauce

Yesterday was triumphant for me.  I have always wanted to make applesauce from scratch and I have always wanted to learn how to can.  I love learning how to make things from scratch and I’m eager to learn more about gardening, how to save seed and store my own food. It’s all part of my desire to live a simpler life. I get giddy just thinking about it.

We were able to get a good deal on a bushel of apples (seconds).  After we used what we needed to make apple pies for Arlen’s birthday, it was clear I would need to use the rest up in a hurry or they would go bad, so I made the plunge.   I had no idea what I was doing, but I knew the starting place was coring and peeling the apples. As soon as I got into it, Samuel had a melt down, so I had to stop the process for a few hours to help him with an afternoon nap (a rarity for him these days).

Back on track in the evening, Arlen worked with me, which was so much more enjoyable.  We threw all the apples in a big pot and boiled them with “just enough” water. (It turns out I didn’t even need as much as I thought I would.)  When the apples were nice and soft, we strained out the liquid (which we saved – yummy apple cider 🙂 ), and had fun mashing the apples with the potato mashers (we like our applesauce chunky).

We borrowed Arlen’s parent’s canning rack and HUGE pot and were able to get nearly 4 qts out of our apples (only three pictured because we started eating on one already).  Apparently we did the canning right because all of our jars popped nicely. 🙂  Success!

I’m super excited it all worked out and it was much easier than I thought! I will have to do this more often.

Leave a Reply

