Project Simplification – 5 Things

In my desire to simplify, I’m realizing that one of the biggest things standing in my way is stuff.  Maybe Samuel’s upcoming birthday that has me thinking so much about stuff and it’s really quite overwhelming.  The problem with stuff is that you have to take care of it. You have to find a place to keep it (which often means bigger houses or more storage space) and the odd thing is that the more stuff I seem to have, the more I want.  We don’t really need most of the stuff we have. We don’t even use it and we probably wouldn’t miss it.  Right now, we have a shed that is nearly full of stuff and a guest room that is currently a staging ground for stuff we need to go through.  I honestly feel a bit suffocated by stuff.  However, the idea of going through  all of this stuff to decide what to keep and what to get rid of is overwhelming; but . . . we have a plan.

Last night my husband and I decided that, for the time being, each week we are going to get rid of at least five things (it would be really cool if we could each get rid of five things). The rules are pretty simple.  The things we discard can be big or little things.  We can sell, donate, or trash anything we don’t need. We can even count borrowed items that we return. The goal is to get things out of our house/shed/possession. As a means of motivation, I have a place in my binder where we can track of all the things we purge. Then, to prevent more stuff from accumulating, we will work hard to ask ourselves our ten basic questions before bringing new stuff into the house.

Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. ~Matthew 6:19-20

How can stuff be a burden to you? How can you reduce the amount of stuff you have?

3 thoughts on “Project Simplification – 5 Things

  1. Hey Laura – I found your blog the the other day when you were talking about Joshua’s house. (I’m mommapiano)
    Your comment that you feel suffocated by stuff is exactly the feeling that I get. We don’t have excess as far as big things, furniture, etc. The only things I have to purge on a regular basis are toys. With a one year old and a seven year old, they pile up quickly because everyone it seems is always contributing to the collection! I have toy boxes for both of them and when they get full and there’s no more room, then it’s time for a box of toys to go to the Community Center. I like order and space in the house so it’s a constant process for sure but it’s like a messy desk for me, I can’t think straight if there’s too much around me.

    • I’m glad you found my blog. 🙂 It does seem like everyone is constantly trying to contribute to the collection of toys! It makes it hard to keep the number of toys down, but I really do think it’s better for everyone. 🙂 Would you consider yourself a “neat nut?”

      • I’m kind of a neat nut, although my house may not reflect that all the time, I really try to keep things clean and in their place. I haven’t always been the best at organization but I’m getting there! If one thing doesn’t work, I just try another..

Leave a Reply

