Do Not Worry About Tomorrow

I spend a lot of time in my life dreaming, focusing on how life will be.  I dream of living out in the country on a farm, raising my family, homeschooling, learning to love the Lord more and more.  I picture maybe even owning a bed and breakfast someday.  I plan for wonderful things in the future. I think of homeschooling and how I will teach this subject, or how that will be set up when Samuel is eight or when his someday little brother or sister is born. I picture what a perfect house would look like, or what it means to be the best homemaker. While none of this is bad in and of itself, planing and dreaming has become an idol in my life.  I get so wrapped up in the way things could be one day that I forget to live in the here and now.  I become so enthralled with my dreams that I am often discontented with the blessings that God is giving me today. I strive so hard for the person that I want to become that I am often unsure of who I am.  The saddest part is that very rarely does any of this planning or striving have anything to do with the ultimate future I should be thrilled for – Heaven.

I think a lot of my future focus has to do with wanting things to turn out just right; about controlling as much as I can now to protect the perfect picture in my mind.  How do I change my perspective?  How do I slow down and focus on the things of here and now?  How do I see the blessings that God is pouring out on me today? How do I shift my focus from how to enhance and enjoy Samuel’s life at the next stage (or several stages down the road for that matter) to how to soak up the time I have with him now?  Honestly, I really don’t know.  The only thing I know how to do is cling to the precious words of Scripture and pray that the Lord will make changes in me.

“But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” ~ Matthew 6:33-34

“Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow.” ~ James 1:17

“Therefor if you have been raised up with Christ, keep seeking the things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your mind on the things above, not on the things that are on earth.” ~ Colossians 3:1-2

“For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus” ~ Philippians 1:6

What are some things you worry about?  Are there idols in your life you need to surrender to God? How can you strive to serve God more right where He has placed you rather than waiting for some change in your life to occur?

2 thoughts on “Do Not Worry About Tomorrow

  1. I was just reading about this in the Bible study:) It’s all about trusting God to lead you step by step, and not worrying about all the details.God doesn’t use Google maps, He likes to just tell us the directions turn by turn. Praise God for today!

Leave a Reply

