Thirsty

Water.  I don’t know why, but I have a hard time drinking it.  It’s not that I don’t like it. It’s just that, well, I don’t think about it.  When I do think about it, it seems to be at the worst times and I file away in my mind that the next chance I get, I need to get a glass of water.  Most of the time I forget when that next chance rolls around.  The crazy thing is that when I drink water it makes such and impact on my well being, that it’s hard to believe I would ever have a hard time drinking enough.  When I get the amount of water I need I feel less sleepy, I get fewer headaches, I feel more alive and alert, I eat less (which generally means I lose weight), the list keeps going on and on.   You would think something so simple that makes such a big impact on my life would be a no brainer, easy for me to make sure happens every day.  Yet, I still struggle.

This reminds me of other water struggles I have.

Jesus answered and said to her, “Everyone who drinks of this water will thirst again; but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him shall never thirst; but the water that I will give him will become in him a well of water springing up to eternal life.” ~John 4:13-14

The impact that drinking deeply from the Word of God, pouring my heart out to Him in prayer and truly accepting the Water He provides my thirsty soul is far greater than that of H2O could ever be.  Yet, I struggle. I have a hard time drinking enough. When I get the amount of Living Water I need, I have greater joy, more love, stronger faith, a deeper desire to be there for others, a better ability to cope with whatever life throws my way, and the list goes on. You would think something so simple that makes such a big impact on my life would be a no brainer, easy for me to make sure happens every day.  Yet, I still struggle.

When I read the story in John 4, surrounding the passage above, I am moved by the woman at the well.  She is so thirsty and drinks so deeply that her life is completely changed in a way that other people are affected by the change (vs. 28, 29). I pray that I may feel my thirst so strongly that it cannot be ignored or forgotten.  I want to drink, and thirst no more!

One thought on “Thirsty

Leave a Reply

