Project Simplification Week 4

You may be asking yourself, “Did I miss week 3?” No, you didn’t. There is no week 3. I’m actually going to stop keeping track of weeks. I’m also going to stop keeping a list of all my goals. For me, lists tend to become written in stone and can often cause me much grief and stress (maybe the decision to reduce the amount of lists I have should be a simplification goal in itself . . . hmmm). As you can imagine from what I’ve said, my goal from last week to make a plan for simplification didn’t go so well. I’m realizing more and more that while having a plan isn’t always a bad thing, it’s not always the best thing either – sometimes it’s good to just go with the flow, so that’s what I’m going to do.

Now, on to my new challenge. I am going on a media fast. I’ve done this before in the past, but it’s a little different this time. I easily waste a lot of time by getting wrapped up in the computer or books. At times I am so distracted by media that I am not fully engaged with those around me. I get so wrapped up in planning for the next big thing or preparing for the next phase of my life that I miss out on the joy in the here and now.

Right now I am a mom and a wife. Those are my two main roles. It seems, however, that I spend so much of my time reading and studying, trying to figure out how to do those things “right” that I often am not as connected to what is going on with my son or husband as I should be. So, rather than reading about and trying to figure out how the home, a mom and a wife “should” be, I am going to discover the meaning of these roles by engaging fully with my Savior, my husband and my Son, rather than my computer.

Goal for this week: Keep my computer off unless truly needed for something (i.e. doing finances), stay off of Facebook and YouTube except for designated times/reasons (designations to be determined – I generally access these from my phone), read and listen to only approved media. All of these things will be done in order to better engage with my Savior, home, husband and son.

I’m eager to see how this all turns out. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

