focus . . . Focus . . . FOCUS!

So it just dawned on me that on January 30 of this year I stated that I would post oodles of blogs on my pregnancy.  Well, over 5 months later at 29 weeks into my pregnancy I’m finally posting.  Why no posts for so long?  Simple.  I have felt quite miserable over the course of this pregnancy.  I don’t like complaining either, so the easiest thing to do has simply been not to talk about it.  Now that I’m in my third trimester, however, it seems the tide might be turning a bit. While I am quite exhausted, I am no longer nauseous 24/7. YAY!  I still can’t do a lot that involves car travel, but our focus here is improvement – right?

Time has been crawling by ever so slowly. When you’re stuck at home and can’t do a whole lot, that tends to be the case, but I’m beginning to be able to nest a bit more each day.  I get more and more eager for our little Byrd to arrive. When you think about it, it’s not that far away.  If baby Byrd came early, but full term, he could be with us, outside of my belly in as little as 7 1/2 weeks!  The longest we’ll have to wait to meet the little guy is 12 weeks. Yes, the span is quite large, but the point is that HE WILL BE HERE SOON!

Although my pregnancy has been a rough one, I have learned a few lessons. The first and most practical lesson I’ve learned is that often I set my expectations way too high.  Now these are mostly expectations for myself.  But, being forced to do so little helps me to realize how much of an over achiever I’ve been and that I really need to chill out. There are far more important things in life than an immaculate house, 100 % made-from-scratch meals, a perfect garden . . . you get the point. I simply pray that as I am able to do more and more I can learn to focus on the most important things – God, Arlen, the new baby and other people God has placed in my life.  If I’m on top of all the other stuff (or any of the other stuff), that’s just a huge plus.

That leads me to the main thing I’ve learned:  never to lose focus. It’s easy to slip and get caught up on how awful I feel or how much I can’t get done, or what I should be doing. But that’s not what we’re called to do.

Paul puts it this way

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

~ Hebrews 12:1-3

It seems in this passage Paul is reffering to the ultimate prize of meeting Jesus in the clouds and spending eternity with our Heavenly Father, but I think it can have a much broader application as well.  No, pregnancy has not been easy for me, but I have learned many lessons and have grown through this experience.  Not only that, but in a few months, I have a fantastic prize waiting for me – my firstborn child!

Leave a Reply

