Every Morning

A little bit over a week ago I stepped foot in my classroom and eagerly awaited the arrival of 11 bright and shining faces.  I was so excited and eager to teach them.  I truly do have a wonderful bunch of kids this year.  I have been faced with many of the apprehensions common to first year teachers, but have thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to work with the kids.  Yet, I have noticed myself falling into the same trap that I often do. I have been allowing myself to become bogged down with the details of teaching so that the big picture is becoming lost.  Is my classroom clean?  Am I changing the center activities enough?  Are my kids as well behaved as they should be? Am I covering enough material?  I noticed early this week that some of these details were beginning to trump the students themselves, even beginning to trump my relationship with God.

As I was spending my time with God this morning, I found this reality to be rather disturbing, then God reminded me of an excellent passage in scripture.

“This I recall to my mind,
Therefore I have hope.
The LORD’s lovingkindnesses indeed never cease,
For His compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
Great is Your Faithfulness.
‘The LORD is my portion,’ says my soul,
‘Therefore I have home in Him.’
The LORD is good to those who wait for Him,
To the person who seeks Him.”
~ Lamentations 3:21-25

It’s not too late to start over.  It’s not to late to refocus on God, on the children, on what it really means to be a teacher.  How wonderful is our Heavenly Father who gives us a fresh start every day?  Who will continue to draw us near to Him if we will but seek Him?

Leave a Reply

