Stunted Growth

As I’ve been looking back over my posts from the past few years, I have noticed something.  I am still struggling with many of the same things I was a year ago. It seems that I have had stunted spiritual growth.  Even more saddening is that in many areas it looks as though I not only have stunted growth, but that I have digressed. 😦 These truths are hart-breaking and I realize that it is essential that I do something to resolve this problem.

This morning I spent a lot of time in prayer talking to God about this very topic. It seems that my struggle is that there is so much that needs to change in my life that I often become overwhelmed and fail to make any real changes because I don’t know where to start.  I try to tackle everything all at once and fail miserably.   So this morning, I asked God what I should do.  Where should the changes start? Expecting something like: work hard to wake up on time, make sure you get plenty of sleep, or cut back on your commitments, I was quite surprised by God’s response.  He led me to five simple things that I can do right now, this week.  Here they are:

  1. Pray over my schedule and to do list each day. I often look at my to do list and plan my day a day in advance to make sure I’m not late for any deadlines I may have, but I rarely take time to lay all of my to dos, appointments and decisions before the Lord.  This will take a little extra time every day, but the time investment seems to be invaluable and essential for truly walking with the Lord.
  2. Keep a Bible close at all times. If I have the Word of God at within arms reach, God is more able to direct me there to seek council and guidance.  The key is using it. I will pray that God will help me turn to His Word often. Here are some of the places I want to always have a Bible:
    • My Desk
    • My Bedroom
    • My Purse
    • My Mp3 player
  3. Pray with and for people right away. I like to pray for people.  I believe that prayer is truly powerful and that God does hear and answer our prayers.  Now, if I can just make this a priority and pray with people when they are in need.  And what if I stop, no matter how busy I am, to pray right away, rather than waiting until my evening prayer time . . . hmmm.
  4. Fill my life with music that draws me close to God and His Word.  I love music, and it is a wonderful tool to keep my mind focused on the things above. (Colossians 3)
  5. Engage my eyes. Weather it be Bible verses, images of God’s creation or scenes from the Bible, it is important that I be reminded of God wherever I look.  By the end of the week, I hope to have some pictures, artwork and scripture hanging on the walls of our home.

If you nottice, the thing with all of theses changes is that I am not the primary mover in what will be happening here.  I have to act by placing Bibles where they are needed, and filling my life with things that glorify God, but any changes in me that come about this week, or ever after for that matter, will be brought about by the Holy Spirit working in my life.  And isn’t that how it should be?

Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.

I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If anyone does not remain in me, he is like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

~John 15:4-8

I look forward to giving you an update in about a week to let you know how God is working in my life in regard to these areas.

3 thoughts on “Stunted Growth

  1. Thanks so much for sharing that. This is something I have been struggling with myself lately and this really helped to focus me. Looking forward to hearing how it turns out for you!

Leave a Reply

